MEMBER SPOTLIGHT- STEPHEN SIMMONS

1. Tell us about yourself (family, pets, past athletics, where you grew up)

I have lived in Texas my entire life. I grew up in Grapevine, but went to school at Southlake-Carroll. Some of the past sports I have played were soccer, baseball, basketball, golf, and roller hockey. Soccer was my favorite sport and I played Competitive Select Soccer here in the DFW area all the way through High School. I am married to my lovely wife Giovanna and we have 2 dogs (Nikita and Sammy) + 1 cat (Ace aka: Zinho)
2. Why did you decide to pursue Crossfit?
I watched the CrossFit Games on ESPN the past few years and it looked like a lot of fun. I was on a Weight Training and Diet/Lifestyle path that was not getting me any results. I knew that I needed a change … and I thought CrossFit would now “force” the Cardio portion into my workout routine(s).
I have some past Lower Back issues and lots of Wear & Tear + some mobility issues due to years of playing sports and not taking care of my body the way I should have been …. My #1 reservation about trying CrossFit earlier than I did was not having someone teach me Proper Technique and then further injuring myself …. I know that I was extremely fortunate to have found the expertise of Willie, Emily, Jason, Gabe, and the entire Crew at CF3040 to help me while I progress in this Sport.
3. How long have you been a member of Crossfit3040?
I started in Late January 2017
4. What is your favorite benchmark/hero Wod and why?
To quote Animal House …. “That would be hard to say, Sir. They are each outstanding in their own way”
The best and probably hardest for me is NANCY …. multiple rounds of running (no problem) …. lots of OHS (big problem LOL!). When I am able to complete this Rx …. then I’ll know that I have turned a major corner in my progress.
5. What do you consider your proudest moment or greatest accomplishment at Crossfit3040?
I am very proud and happy that my wife (Gio) has taken such a liking to CrossFit as well! It’s definitely not for everyone and I am very happy she is on this journey with me on living a healthier, stronger, better lifestyle.
I want to thank EVERYONE who has been so supportive to Gio, Myself, and the rest of the members at CF3040!
6. How has getting in shape changed your life?
I went from 230lbs in January and down to around 200-202lbs right now. My overall diet has improved and I am still in the process of re-training my body to be more Mobile and not as tight as it used to be. I still have a long way to go, but I am looking forward to getting better each and every day.
7. What are some of your favorite things to do outside of Crossfit?

I watch a lot of soccer (EPL, Brasileirao, La Liga, Champions League, etc…), spend time with Gio and our animals, and not too much else. I was a Volunteer Youth Soccer Coach for GSSA from 2011-2015 and I plan on getting back into that this Spring 2018 with Lewisville’s Soccer Association.

2018-01-28T22:42:22+00:00 December 1st, 2017|Member Spotlight|