1. Tell us about yourself

I’m a Texan by birth but spent 16 years in Atlanta Georgia before deciding that Texas was calling me back. I grew up playing basketball and dancing ballet, tap and jazz I danced in the ballet company for two years before deciding to leave both behind to ride horses as my sole sport. I started seriously riding at age 14 and was training dressage (horse ballet) before I decided to get into eventing which is the equivalent of a human triathlon. Day 1 is dressage a flat work test day 2 is cross country which is basically xc running except on horseback with jumps that don’t fall down, and ending day 3 with a show jump of many colorful poles in a sandbox. I have two younger brothers the youngest one is on the track team at Charleston Southern where he competes in shot put, driver, and some other strength events, he recently broke his squat PR at 400# my middle brother lives in santa monica California and spends his free time skateboarding although he was a great athlete in college and played soccer around the world and was invited to China twice to play on a team. Both of my parents are also active my dad was a college baseball player and my mom a varsity and college basketball, volleyball, and cheerleader. Currently they both do boot camps to keep themselves in shape down in Miami Florida.
I’m married to my wonderful husband, Evan, who is 6’8 and no he doesn’t play basketball but he does rock climb! and we have two black cats (Rook and and a horse Marcus who I currently compete on.

2. Why did you decide to pursue Crossfit?

I had done boot camps and played sports but riding horses was not cutting it physical fitness wise and I wanted to be better for both my horse and my future since adult onset diabetes runs in my family. I wanted a mind body and soul transformation not to be too cheesy.

3. How long have you been a member of Crossfit3040?

oh gosh I think I joined in January/February 2017?

4. What is your favorite benchmark/hero Wod and why?

probably Annie or Christine

5. What do you consider your proudest moment or greatest accomplishment at Crossfit3040?

running a sub 5 minute 800!
assisted handstand pushup!
double unders being able to string them along

6. How has getting in shape changed your life?

I’ve become a better rider I can handle so much more during my lessons
my eating has changed to seeing food as fuel instead of a reward

7. What are some of your favorite things to do outside of Crossfit?

ummm Ride my horse! Marcus and I are trying to make our way to the American Eventing Championships this year but will probably be pushed to next yeas since USEF has cancelled all future events. I also play some World of Warcraft classic with my hubs as well as disc golf on a nice day